life lately

Do you ever feel like things have reached a peak of business but also a strange monotone where you don’t have much to say about life other than “it’s good” ?

I’m definitely there right now.

I’ve had enough time to paint my nails often! This week they are my favorite, a sandy nude color. I find this kind of strange, since 99.99% of the time I like rainbow bright neon colors for everything in my life. But the nude is somehow elegant and I really dig that. Being able to paint my nails has been one of the biggest freedoms I have loved about no longer working in the food industry. Painted nails just make me feel really put together.

Halloween came and went and somehow now it’s Winter? Winter with a capital ‘W’, no doubt. I’m freezing cold all the time and trying to double up on sweaters. Last weekend I went to Multnomah Falls and it was SO COLD but also really beautiful once the fog lifted. Now that I’m not there, I wish I had spent a little bit more time wandering around the trails there, but the cold+ arthritic knees + wet doesn’t tend to make for a super adventurous Brittneigh. I’m flying to Austin, TX for the Thanksgiving holiday and I am really looking forward to the change in weather already.


I’ve been cooking for myself a little bit more and I’ve been super enjoying it! I made these cupcakes for a friend’s birthday party, but I’ve also made 2 varieties of soup, stir fry and other meals that I’ve frozen and packaged up for later. I am really liking being in charge of my own kitchen, even if it IS tiny, and trying out new recipes.

Lately it has been incredibly easy to get together with old friends and watch movies together. Last night’s film of choice was the classic Hocus Pocus and I got to eat snow caps and pet a black cat while watching witches fly around on broomsticks. Basically perfect.

So yeah. Life is good, y’know?

Leave a Reply

