What’s on my mind, 3rd week of August

  • This week has alternated between very slow and very crazy. I’ve been distracted by re-reading comics and my favorite trashy fantasy series so I haven’t been incredibly interesting, or productive! Refocusing on things I know pretty well has been helping my stress levels a little bit, though, so that is nice.
  • SPEAKING OF SPACE! This is a super cute video of astronaut Tom Mashburn having a fight with Earth’s gravity:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PVxaL8CAO4M
  • Fong Qi Wei’s photography series “The Passage of Time” is breathtaking and fantastic.

    I would love to buy a print of one of these photographs, which are layered time-lapse photography. Brilliant and beautiful.
  • Need an interesting read? Today I have been surfing through traditional Saints and terms associated with saints. I find the depictions and the symbolology of them very fascinating! Did you know that there is a patron saint of the Internet? He is often depicted as surrounded by a swarm of bees. That’s eerily accurate.
  • Ever have a song come on the radio and it is just perfect?
    Death Cab for Cutie’s “Bixby Canyon Bridge” is pretty much always perfect for me:

    I guess this is where I apologise that my taste in music is so mainstream, but man, this song is just so great.

  • I found Mikey Burton’s website last week and I am STILL ooh-ing and ahh-ing about the quality of his printing design and the style of his vector art. I think I love everything on hit site! I love looking at current newspaper and printed artist’s illustrations outside of the articles they are featured in.
  • I am a little skeptical of this infographic:

    I mean, seriously, that would make me a Serious Expert in Trashy Fantasy and Hercule Poirot novels. I don’t think that’s quite what they mean by “expert”. Besides that… I really hope it’s not accurate. Please, don’t be accurate, infographic. I like to think that more people take the time to read. Maybe not as much time as I do, but some time, at least!
  • This weekend I’m going to an amusement park, eating cotton candy, buying an accordion, and applying for a new apartment. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

