6 month book challenge check-in

berks

So, there was no “Initial” post on this, but Laura’s latest post over at RubyBastille reminded me that, oh yeah, I’m doing a 100 book challenge, myself. Not a literary, intellectually heavy 100 book challenge, just a challenge to see if I can read 100 books in a year naturally.

I’m just at halfway through. Here is my list so far:
(As a disclaimer, probably 1/3 of these are re-reads on my part, and also there are a few I did not finish.)

1. The Alchemyst by Michael Scott & Erik Singer
2. Melusine by Sarah Monette
3. The Virtu by Sarah Monette
4. The Mirador by Sarah Monette
5. Corambis by Sarah Monette
6. The Fairy Godmother by Mercedes Lackey
7. Stormdancer by Jay Kristoff
8. The Strange Case of Origami Yoda by Tom Angleberger
9. Foundation by Isaac Asimov
10. Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor
11. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
12. Freckles by Gene Stratton-Porter
13. The Godmother by Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
14. Spellwright by Blake Charlton
15. Forests of the Heart by Charles de Lint
16. The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley
17. Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones
18. Incident at Badamaya by Dorothy Gilman
19. Caravan by Dorothy Gilman
20. Unleashed by Nancy Holder (dnf)
21. By The Sword by Mercedes Lackey
22. Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan
23. Dark Lover by JR Ward (dnf)
24. Enchanted Glass by Diana Wynne Jones
25. Blood of Elves by Andrzej Sapkowski (dnf)
26. Magic’s Pawn by Mercedes Lackey
27. Moon Called by Patricia Briggs
28. The Seance by John Harwood
29. Wolfbreed by S.A. Swann
30. Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson (dnf)
31. Magic’s Promise by Mercedes Lackey
32. Magic’s Price by Mercedes Lackey
33. Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand by Helen Simonson (dnf)
34. Fevre Dream by George R. R. Martin (dnf)
35. The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova
36. Blood Bound by Patricia Briggs
37. Cast In Shadow by Michelle Sagara
38. Lord of Light by Roger Zelzany (dnf)
39. The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff
40. The Devil in the White City by Erik Larson (dnf)
41. Magic Bites by Ilona Andrews
42. The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides
43. Cart & Cwidder by Diana Wynne Jones
44. Foundation & Empire by Isaac Asimov
45. The Neverending Story by Michael Ende (dnf)
46. Pawn of Prophecy by David Eddings
47. Seraphina by Rachel Hartman
48. Second Foundation by Isaac Asimov
49. The Maze Runner by James Dashner
50. The Scorch Trials by James Dashner
51. The Death Cure by James Dashner
52. The Castle Corona by Sharon Creech
53. Home from the Sea by Mercedes Lackey
54. Jane of Lantern Hill by L.M. Montgomery
55. The Meaning of Night by Michael Cox (dnf)

Now, I’m a pretty fast reader. I’m averaging about a book a week. But this 100 challenge is absolutely keeping me on my toes. It took me an extra long time to get through The Historian (even though it was AMAZING and I loved it) and that made me pretty nervous in terms of keeping on top of the challenge. The downside (or upside) of this challenge allows me to read a lot of quick, YA and pulpy novels that keep my numbers up. I’m having a lot of fun making myself read and read and read and read (I mean seriously, it IS one of my favorite things to do!) and actually getting through my 85-book-deep “to read” list on goodreads.

The best of the best so far:
The Seance by John Harwood – I actually started to read this book, gave up on it, and came back a month later. I’m so glad I did. It was creepy, scientific, strange and awesome.
The Maze Runner Trilogy by James Dashner – AAAH THESE BOOKS I loved them and didn’t want them to end. Fun, easy, fast-paced and pretty scary reads.
The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides – a beautiful, heartbreaking, depressing classic. I can’t say it’s my new favorite book, but I’m super glad to have read it.

The worst:
Cast in Shadow by Michelle Sagara – NO PLOT OMG I’m so upset I stuck it through a plotless, descriptionless book. I wish I had quit reading halfway through. But it had so much potential!

But most likely any of the books I didn’t finish, I would put on the “worst” list.* All for different reasons. Some were too violently awful, some were just terribly boring, some just didn’t interest me after 2 weeks of sitting on my bookshelf. I try to give books second chances, but most of the time I’d just rather read something else instead of keep trying to pay attention.

*Minus “The Neverending Story”. It was SO GOOD, you guys. But it never ended. So I died.

I guess I have some more to go!

You can keep track of my progress, and start a challenge of your own, if you like, here!

4 thoughts on “6 month book challenge check-in

  1. I think you’re the only person I know who doesn’t think Mistborn is at least Very Good. I enjoyed it, not enough to be like “omg, need the sequels now,” but enough that I’ll probably get back to them someday. We just discovered Sanderson has written another book set in that world, but 300 years later, so it’ll be all steampunky and stuff. I’m actually excited for that one.

    • Mistborn is actually one of the only books I didn’t finish that I’d be kind of willing to give a second chance to? I barely got 20 pages into it. It just didn’t interest me at the time, though everyone I hear says it is fantastic, so yeah.

      • It was kind of a slow start, and I found the magic system super confusing at times. (Turns out there was a glossary in the back the whole time.) You should definitely try it again sometime!

  2. Pingback: 2013 book challenge finale! | Brittknee, Brittneigh, Brittnooo

Leave a Reply

