Valentines

“You need someone who loves you for your quirks.”

My boss said this today as I left work and it really stuck with me.

Valentine’s Day is an easy trap for a single girl to fall into. Even when I am at a point where I am perfectly content with myself, my busy schedule and my social life, it would be incredibly easy to allow myself to wallow. I could spend tonight sitting alone in bed, a small tear running down my cheek, just wishing that someone loved me in that specific way and that they had sent me a flower, or a rose, or a piece of chocolate the size of my face.

In lieu of this, this morning I gave each of my coworkers a PRINCE OF PERSIA Valentine (complete with a temporary tattoos) and I wore a bow-tie and red lipstick to work.


I am absolutely one of those people who dresses to theme for various holidays. If I do ever become a teacher I fully intend owning a heinous collection of ugly holiday sweaters. It is going to be glorious.

Taken awkwardly at the Cafeteria

As to quirks, I guess I am full of them, even though I kind of loathe the “quirky” label. (Or is it just labels in general? I am not… quite decided.) I purchased that bow-tie at The Buffalo Exchange for $6.50 last week (with a little encouragement from a friend) and I am kind of tempted to add it to my permanent list of quirks. A new bow-tie for every day? Is that too intense? Am I destined to become like my customer we refer to as “Mr. Bow-tie” because he always has a different one on when we see him? (He complimented me on mine today, by the way) Am I just trying very hard to be just like The Doctor? Am I going to have to start wearing a fez now?

I am not sure!

I have to say that I am pretty content with both Valentine’s Day and myself this year. While it would be nice to have a beau, I am glad that I am single (since I am busy and broke), and glad that I have friends and family who have bought me chocolates, assured me that they love me, and while that affection is not quite the same as a sweetheart, it certainly is wonderful in its own way.

4 thoughts on “Valentines

    • Also, for the reals, I’d call you less “quirky” and just more “interesting and engaging”. I wouldn’t label you with the “OMG SO QUIRKY” sticker. Maybe a “Keep it up!” sticker, though.

Leave a Reply

