Holycow, freedom

So, last week I finished my BA in literature. It took me 6 years.

What am I going to do with it?
I really don’t know. I could do anything with it. I could win the lottery tomorrow, decide to turn to alpaca farming, write a book, work for The Man, or just tutor and be poor for the rest of my life.

In reality, I’ll probably settle for any full-time job I can get, eventually apply for a master’s degree in Education and plow myself into even more debt.
But for right now? I am free.

Free to read any book I want, (this week: “Beloved” by Toni Morrison and “The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie” by Alan Bradley), watch as much TV as I want (seasons 1-3 of the Venture Bros, Grimm, and My Little Pony), listen to new music (Kavinsky and The Black Keys), watch that movie that I promised my coworker 3 months ago I’d watch (Meet the Robinsons), and be as social as I can without going broke.

I quit blogging a year ago, trapped between college pressures and not knowing just what I ultimately wanted to blog about. Did I want to blog about fashion? Collections? Antiquing? College? Slice of life?

I had no idea.

Every blog post I sat down to life morphed itself into a lesson in “What Can I Do to Better The World”, or “How Can We Work Together To Live In Harmony” and eventually got deleted. This wasn’t my style, my writing, or my message. A year later, I’ve figured it out: I have no message. I want to write. I want to tell you how I feel, what I’m thinking, what I’m collecting, how I’m saving, and how I wore a technicoloured-rainbow-sweater to a meeting full of people (read: ADULTS) wearing taupe and gray and didn’t realize it until halfway through the meeting. (Don’t worry, I played it cool by making fun of my coworker’s beard. For hours.)

Hello, internet! I’ve been around awhile, but my name’s Brittneigh. And Brittknee. I can’t help but be contrary and loud most of the time. I like to buy old things and pretend I’m a movie star, when really I’m just a kid who makes coffee for a living. Someday I’m going to take over the world, and it’ll probably be because I tripped on someone important.

Nice to meet you!

BRITTNEIGH IS MY NAAAME-O

Leave a Reply

